Skip to content

The Sage’s Answers, Part 2

With the success of part one, we move right into the second installment of The Sage’s Answers! Just to remind everyone, here we’ll be answering questions players and GMs have asked about The Witcher TRPG with the goal of turning them into an errata and updating the book down the line.  Today we’re answering ten questions!

Cody Pondsmith, our line developer, will be answering five to ten questions each time we post. We’re going to shoot for either every day or every other day, schedules allowing, and when there’s going to be longer breaks we’ll try our best to let you know in advance. We’ll be posting each The Sage’s Answers on our blog, our Facebook, and on the r/WitcherTRPG subreddit. On our blog, I’ll be tagging each entry with “sagesanswers” to make them easy to find.

And on we go!


Multiple people ask…
I’ve been losing my mind trying to make sense of the way non-lethal damage and stun works in this game. On page 47 and 48 it details your stun statistic. With a body of 6 you would have a stun of 60. When this score is reduced to 0 the player falls unconscious. But on page 153 underneath Damage it states that if you have taken non-lethal damage equal to your Health Points, you are knocked unconscious and must recover 20HP and make a stun save to stabilize. Please help me, I am losing my mind over this.

Cody answers….
Hey, Everybody! Non-lethal damage is applied to your Stun statistic which is separate from your Health. On page 153, it should state that when you are knocked down to 0 Stun you fall unconscious and you recover when you recover 20 Stun you recover consciousness. Because your Stun Statistic and your Health Point statistic are the same when unmodified I conflated the two. Again, to clarify, non-lethal damage (possibly also called Stun damage) is applied to your Stun total, which is essentially a separate health track just for non-lethal/stun damage.


LordPete79 asks…
The description of the Recovery Action on page 151 suggests that a Recovery Action can be used outside of combat to regain health. That seems to contradict the description of the Recovery derived stat, which states that it takes a day of rest to recover some HP. It seems like only one of these can be right. Unless recovery actions out of combat are supposed to take a full day, but then, why mention it in the combat chapter?

Cody answers…
Hey, LordPete79! The last sentence regarding a Recovery Action on page 151 should be taken out. A Recovery Action can only be used to regain Stamina. The action cannot be used whenever you choose to heal Health Points.


Hursketaro asks…
(The following question is summarized for space and clarity)
Busking (the Bard Defining Skill) mentions the possibility of fumbling but can other Skills, such as the more general, non-class specific ones, fumble or critical?

Cody answers…
Hey, Hursketaro! Certain things like Busking have penalties if you fumble because they are treated more as abilities than Skills. Other than those abilities, non-combat skills don’t have a written penalty if you fumble or if you critical. The fact that you fumbled/criticaled usually means you abysmally fail or fantastically succeed. The penalties in combat are there to enhance the “risk/reward” nature of combat and give you more of a chance when you fight much more dangerous opponents. In short, unless otherwise noted, it isn’t possible to roll a Fumble or Critical on a Skill roll.


The ScandalousKoala asks…
Okay so this may be a dumb question, because I’m really struggling to get my head around all the rules. My understanding is you can either do a fast attack, or a strong attack with ranged weapons as well as melee weapons, but doing the fast attack you can only shoot one arrow because of the time it takes to draw it back, so what is the benefit of a fast attack with a ranged weapon? Why not always do strong attacks with ranged weapons? Am I missing something obvious?

Cody answers…
Hey, ScandalousKoala! Taking a strong strike always gives you a -3 to your attack (unless you have some way of negating it like the Wolf School Witcher’s ability) So the reason you take a fast strike is to guarantee accuracy. A -3 can be a pretty large penalty if you are already aiming!


Soleil01001 asks…
Let’s say a witcher casts Axii on someone and passes the spellcasting. On the target’s turn, he makes a Stun save at -1. He has to take his Stun stat, divides by 10 and then what?

Cody answers…
Hey, Soleil01001! What you do is: Take your Stun stat and divide it by ten. This is your Stun Save. Then subtract one from your Stun Save. You must roll under that number to resist Axii. So, if your STUN stat is 70, you divide that by ten 10 get 7. Subtract 1 and you get a modified Stun Save of 6. You have to roll under that 6 or be stunned.


Jordi F asks…
Don’t understand the concept of criticals … they do seem to ignore completely the point of armors or localized damage. You want to target the head? that’s a -6 … but if he wears a helmet, you may do nothing. Or instead you don’t target anything and if you pass the defense by 7 (1 point more than the head penalty) you do a critical roll that ignores location and armor and simply break havoc on the target. Which is interesting because if you wear the heaviest armor possible you have an EV penalty to DEX, REF, effectively making you more easier to get hit and receive a critical that will ignore your armor. Umm. Not nice.

Cody answers…
Hey, Jordi! When dealing damage with a Critical Wound, only the bonus damage and any damage that might come from Effects (as rolled on the appropriate Effect table) ignore armor. The weapon’s damage still has to contend with the target’s armor. So, if you score a Sucking Chest Wound with a Kord, you would automatically do 8 points of damage and apply the Suffocating effect. But the 5d6 damage your Kord does would still have to overcome the armor. Since Critical wounds can represent concussive force that travels through armor, it’s very possible that you might score that critical wound without getting more than a few points of damage through the armor. The balance between light armor and heavy armor is based on this concept. With light armor, it’s harder for enemies to land strikes on you but if you get hit you will take a ton of damage because you have little armor to soak it. In heavy armor, most weapons won’t even be able to deal damage to you but your hampered movement and limited vision mean that it’s more likely for enemies to apply penalties and persistent damage that wears you down.


JasontheRand asks…
How long does applying Armor Enhancements take?

Cody answers…
Hey, JasontheRand! It’s not directly mentioned but it should take 1 round. They are designed to be add-ons which are easy to apply quickly. We don’t want people to get too bogged down applying these bonuses.


JasontheRand asks…
How long does Adhensive last?

Cody answers…
Alchemical Adhesive lasts until peeled apart with a DC: 16 Physique check. Much like regular glue, it will just stick there permanently. If your players really have trouble with Physique they can burn some Luck.


JasontheRand asks…
Are ritual components consumed if you do not fail the ritual? Does that apply to the Telecommunicator? It just never specifies.

Cody answers…
This will need to be clarified. Thanks for pointing it out! Ritual components are usually consumed when you cast the ritual. That does not apply to the Telecommunicator, though.


JasontheRand asks…
Does the trip action do damage? If you aim for someone’s legs with an attack is that a trip? Is aiming for the arms a disarm?

Cody answers…
Aiming for a limb is not automatically a trip or a disarm. A shot to the arm could land anywhere from the shoulder to the hand and a shot to the leg could land anywhere from the hip to the foot. And the Trip action does not deal damage.


That’s all the Sage has for us today. More answers soon! Thank you for your questions and your support of The Witcher TRPG and R. Talsorian Games!

4 thoughts on “The Sage’s Answers, Part 2 Leave a comment

  1. According to the Physical Table on page 48 the STUN value is usually two times the HP value, not the same, or am I mistaken? STA and HP are the same.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: