Skip to content

The Sage’s Answers, Part 3

The Sage’s Answers marches on life the Nilfgaardian army! Just to remind everyone, here we’ll be answering questions players and GMs have asked about The Witcher TRPG with the goal of turning them into an errata and updating the book down the line.  Today we’re answering five questions, all from a single, inquisitive source!

Cody Pondsmith, our line developer, will be answering five to ten questions each time we post. We’re going to shoot for either every day or every other day, schedules allowing, and when there’s going to be longer breaks we’ll try our best to let you know in advance. We’ll be posting each The Sage’s Answers on our blog, our Facebook, and on the r/WitcherTRPG subreddit. On our blog, I’ll be tagging each entry with “sagesanswers” to make them easy to find.

And on we go!


JasontheRand asks…

An Extra Attack is mentioned on page 151 sidebar. For only 1 stamina I do not see why melee characters would ever NOT use it? Or was this a precursor to the fast attack that was not taken out?

Cody answers…

Hey, Jasontherand! The ability to make an extra attack at the cost of 1 stamina is a hang over from an earlier revision. The STA cost is 3, not 1, and there is still the -3 penalty to hit to consider. Extra defensive actions remain unchanged at a cost of 1 STA per.


JasontheRand asks…

What causes non-lethal damage. Is it just Blunt Arrow, Punch, Kick, and Pommel Strike?

Cody answers…

Yes, for the moment, Blunt arrows, unarmed attacks and pommel strikes cause non-lethal damage. Additional sources of non-lethal damage may appear in future sourcebooks.


JasontheRand asks…

Is bludgeoning damage lethal? That is what the shield attack section implies, but it is never stated.

Cody answers…

Bludgeoning damage is considered lethal damage. Instead of aiming to incapacitate a foe, the damage you do with a mace or other bludgeoning weapon is meant to break bones and kill the target.


JasontheRand asks…

Does spellcasting need to be rolled (and possibly fumbled) for all spells, or just ones that specify that a roll is needed?

Cody answers…

Spell Casting must be rolled for all spells. This includes non-attack spells and spells that don’t list a DC. This is just to know whether the roll is fumbled or not. If you don’t fumble the roll you succeed at casting the spell.


JasontheRand asks…

Do witchers use spellcasting for any of the basic signs they start with? or is it only used for the alternate signs? why should they put skill points in it to start?

Cody answers…

The Spell Casting skill is used for the basic signs that witchers start with as well as the alternate signs. If you don’t put points into this skill you won’t succeed with many of your signs.


Thank you to JasontheRand for the plethora of questions! More answers from the Sage will be arriving later!

2 thoughts on “The Sage’s Answers, Part 3 Leave a comment

  1. Another remark regarding signs (not sure if JasontheRand reads the comments, but anyway): If I understand correctly the Spell Casting throw is regarded as the attack throw for signs. This means that the defense rolls of monsters is against the roll you made in Spell Casting. Thus, it seems highly recommended to spend points in Spell Casting if you want to play a Gryphon School Witcher.
    Another question that just occured to me regarding signs (if this is already on the list, feel free to ignore it): If I use Igni, which has a cone attack, does it hit each location on one enemy seperately or does it deal damage only once? The former appears a bit overpowered, especially against enemies that are susceptible to fire (like Drowners). You could totally obliterate an entire group of them.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: