Skip to content

The Sage’s Answers, Part 18

SagesAnswersBanner

Hello everyone! We’ve got a special The Sage’s Answers this week. It only answers a single question but this is a big one.

Specifically, this week’s The Sage’s Answers revises and clarifies the way STUN, Stun Saves, and Non-Lethal Damage work!

Just to remind everyone, here we’ll be answering questions players and GMs have asked about The Witcher TRPG with the goal of turning them into an errata and updating the book down the line.

We’ll be posting each The Sage’s Answers on our blog, our Facebook, and on the r/WitcherTRPG subreddit. On our blog, I’ll be tagging each entry with “sagesanswers” to make them easy to find.


In the midst of adapting systems and making revisions, knocking people out and stunning people got to be really strange in The Witcher TRPG. I went back and looked at it and there were a few key problems which made everything else go wonky.

Here’s the fix.

STUN and Stun Saves

Your STUN Statistic only applies to attacks/spells/effects which force you to make a Stun Save. You calculate it using the following formula: (Body+Will)/2 and it caps at 10.

When a character is forced to roll a Stun Save, they must roll under their STUN Statistic of be Stunned as per the entry on the Effects Table on page 161. Some weapons and attacks apply a penalty to your STUN for the purposes of a Stun Save.

For example, the Highland Mauler has a Stun (-2) Effect. This means, if a character gets hit in the head by a Highland Mauler, they must roll under their STUN – 2 instead of their STUN to avoid becoming Stunned.

If a character fails their Stun Save, they can take a whole round action to make a new Stun Save against their unmodified STUN (even if they were initially Stunned by an attack with a Stun (-X) Effect). If they succeed, they are no longer Stunned. They can also be brought out of their Stunned state if they take damage or if another character uses an action to rouse them.

Non-Lethal Damage

Non-Lethal damage is now applied to a character’s Stamina and not their Health Points. The way Stamina is calculated remains unchanged and is as depicted on the Physical Table on page 48. This means Stamina can now be lowered by Non-Lethal Damage, the use of Extra Actions and Defenses, or the Casting of Magic.

When a character reaches 0 Stamina or lower they fall unconscious and are also considered Stunned. While they regain consciousness upon rising above 0 Stamina, they remain Stunned until they reach 20 Stamina (or their maximum, if their maximum Stamina is below 20) and make a successful Stun Save on their turn. Thus, it is now possible for characters to pass out due to exhaustion (for example, if they spend too much Stamina performing extra attacks or casting spells) or to be knocked unconscious via Non-Lethal blows.


Best Wishes & Many Thanks!

Cody

4 thoughts on “The Sage’s Answers, Part 18 Leave a comment

  1. So, is the stun statistic (Body + Will) / 2, or Body + (Will/2)? I imagine it’s the first, since that would make Stun the average of Body and Will, but the second method would follow the Order of Operations (Division before Addition).
    Thanks!

  2. Liking these changes, but I have a few questions about them.
    1. Is the stun value supposed to be the average of the Body and Will values? In which case the formula this page gives is not correct, but (Body + Will) / 2 would be.
    2. Does Stun (-X) only or only work when having scored a critical hit, as the description in the book states it always works if the attack hit the torso or head (and has no mention of critical hits)?
    3. Does stun still end if you are hit by an attack?
    4. Can Stamina go negative?

    • 1. Yes. We’ve edited it here to be clearer. 2. The Stun (-X) Weapon Effect works when it hits the torso and head, as described in the book. We’ve edited here to be clearer (again). 3. Good question, I’ll ask Cody. 4. Also a good question, I’ll ask Cody.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: