Skip to content

The Sage’s Answers, Finale

Hello and welcome to the final The Sage’s Answers.

At least for now.

With the answers given this week, Cody’s finished off our list of questions and is hard at work at putting together the PDF update/errata. Thanks to everyone who asked questions and who has supported the game so far.

And onto the questions!


Łukasz T. asks…

How often can Noonwraiths make copies of themselves? Can the copies attack and what stats do they use if they do so? Is making the copies an action and can they do it each round to create more and more copies or can they only create a maximum of 3 at a time?

Cody answers…

Hey, Łukasz! Noonwraiths make copies when they activate their High Noon Dance (which is an action). The copies don’t attack but they use the same stats as the Noonwraith. Once the copies have been made the Noonwraith can’t make more copies until all of the previous copies have been killed and it activates the High Noon Dance again.


Łukasz T. asks…

Why do some monsters (Grave Hags, Griffins) have more health than they should as indicated by the formula on page 48?

Cody answers…

Most of the Difficult monsters (and some of Medium monsters) have more health than the formula for standard character to reflect their improved durability. These monsters are designed to be boss monsters or mini bosses.


Merlin Blunt asks…

When do you add the SP of your shield to soak damage? Is it only when you block (but fail) or just whenever it makes sense to have a shield in the way (torso and maybe arm hits)?

Cody answers…

Hey, Merlin! You don’t add the SP of your shield to soaking damage. We may go back and change the SP to Reliability to match weapons. The SP of your shield shows how many times you can block with it before it breaks. If you successfully block with a shield you negate all damage.


Selfidias asks…

The Balanced Weapon Effect says to roll 2d6+2 to the critical. Does this mean if you score a critical wound, you roll 2d6+2 instead of 2d6 to determine the effect? Does it give you any benefit when you score a critical on a called shot, which bypasses rolling on the critical table to determine hit location/critical effect?

Cody answers…

Hey, Selfidias! Yes, if you are wielding a Balanced weapon and you score a critical you roll 2d6+2 instead of 2d6 when determining the critical effect. We will make a note that on called shots it adds +1 to your attack roll, instead.


Tom Kant asks…

If you have been knocked down to 0 Stamina (and therefore Stunned) and do a recovery action to get above 0 Stamina, you’re still Stunned. At that point, does your Stunned state end if you are damaged (the same way it does normally) or can you not remove your Stunned state by any means until you raise your Stamina above 20?

Cody answers…

Hey, Tom! If you have been knocked down to 0 stamina but spend an action to regain stamina you are still Stunned. If you are struck on the next turn you are still roused from your Stunned state but you remain at the amount of Stamina you had.


Leothedino asks…

When you enter Death State, all stats are reduced to 1/3. Is this just the base Statistics (BODY, REFLEX, DEX, and so forth) or does this mean Derived Statistics are reduced as well (STUN and HP, for example).

Cody answers…

Hey, Leothedino! When you are knocked into death state all your primary Statistics are lowered by 1/3 and so are your Derived statistics. We’ll make a note of that!


Mastercj987 asks…

On the fumble table on page 157 I can see that the Fumbles are determined by the stat used for defending. For Reflex Defending, rolls 6,7,9 and 10+ all have to do with weapons, but what if the defender is using Dodge/Escape to defend and rolls one of those fumbles? My understanding of Dodge/Escape is that the defender isn’t attempting to use their weapon defensively so the fumbles that would cause weapon damage shouldn’t happen. On these fumbles should the weapon take damage anyway or is it just ignored?

Cody answers…

Hey, mastercj987! If you’re player is using Dodge/Escape to defend and they roll a fumble you’ll want to use the DEX defending table. We’ll probably change those titles to Armed Defense and Unarmed Defense (or something of the like).


Mastercj987 asks…

Is the Dex (Defense) Fumble table on page 157 meant specifically for when you are using the Athletics Skill to reposition? Or was it meant for something else?

Cody answers…

DEX (Defense) was meant for dodging based defense. It’s a hold over from an earlier era.


Soleil01001 asks…

Does the Parry Arrow Skill also stagger the attacker like a regular Parry? Or does it allow the Witcher to deflect the missile towards an enemy? Otherwise, why use it instead of Dodge?

Cody answers…

Hey, Soleil01001! Parry arrows doesn’t stagger the attacker. It does allow you to parry bombs and other explosive items, which can put the bomb farther away from you or even drop it back at the feet of the attacker.


Mario Mendoza asks…

Does a weapon’s WA add to rolls made to Parry or Block? Or does it just add to attack rolls?

Cody answers…

Hey, Mario! Weapon accuracy adds to the attack rolls but not parry or block rolls.


Mario Mendoza asks…

In the game, Geralt could strike with his sword single-handed. Shouldn’t the Witcher weapons HANDS required be 1-2 instead of only 2?

Cody answers…

Geralt can technically swing his sword with one hand but it’s not as fast or as skilled. Either way, I agree with the assertion! I’d been thinking of changing the Hand requirement for Witcher swords and I think we will change it to one handed.


Mikargibbros asks…

Can a magic user or doctor immediately heal the damage caused by a blood ritual?

Cody answers…

Hey, mikargibbros! Doctors can’t immediately heal damage from a Blood Ritual but a Mage who knows the Healing Spell can.


Destined asks…

Is Bleeding cummualitive? Can you suffer from multiple cummulative effects?

Cody answers…

Hey, Destined! You cannot suffer from multiple instances of the same affect. Once you are bleeding you can’t be bleeding more.


Planewalker asks…

Does the Heliotrope Ability on the Spellsword tree for the Witcher require the player to roll both Heliotrope AND Spell Casting? Two Skills for a single effect seems unusual for how the Tree Skills work.

Cody answers…

Hey, Planewalker! Thanks for catching that! You roll Heliotrope against the magic not Spell Casting. We’ll go back and change that!


Liungorthin asks…

What does “Target Silhouetted” mean on the combat modifiers table?

Cody answers…

Hey, liungorthin! A target is silhouetted when they are back lit by something. For example, if you are looking out of a dark cave at someone in the mouth of the cave.


And there we go! Thanks again and keep your sword sharp!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: